keyboard-warrior

I can’t even begin to express how much I can’t stand the rise of the keyboard warrior. It seems the more and more we sink into our devices, the more we lose touch with people and how to address them in a normal, considerate way.

The amount of nastiness and backlash and shaming out there (as much as it doesn’t surprise me) is insane. And I’m not talking about trolls. I’m talking about people – friends, family, acquaintances letting rip in a social media setting. I know I am hyper sensitive (both in what I say and how I interpret the world), but seriously, is it too much to ask for people just to be kind to one another? Or barring that, at least silent?

What frustrates me more and more is how people who like to crow about how they stand up for causes (e.g. animal rights, women’s rights, or whatever) are often the very first to bully others or to post something so hypocritical that it’s all I can do not to a) vom in my mouth b) block them immediately c) write a sarcastic response d) all of the above.

I can’t see a solution, other than trying to keep my cool and follow the maxim of “if you can’t say anything nice…” and wait for us all to devolve into creatures with only thumbs (for texting) and an index finger (for clicking).

Ugh.

