You realise you’re getting older when you start to say all those things you heard your parents say… this music is crap, there’s nothing original anymore, we used to wear that, why isn’t anything original anymore…?

… I guess I just never thought the 80s would leap back so fast and I’d hear myself saying these things so soon…

As with anything, I am all for moderation and I believe people should be able to listen to anything they want (as long as I don’t have to be subjected to it too, that’s fine), but it does blow my mind that somehow autotuning has become a genre. It could be a by-product of American Idol type instant star reality TV BS, but I don’t get how tweens, kids, certain Much Music listening adults find this listenable and beyond that, enjoyable.

Poor Rebecca Black… at least she thought she was trying to do something cool …. it’s just god awful, really. Whiny voices (not even the autotune seems to get rid of this), kak beats, lyrics that sound like they are being read off the t-shirts you can buy at a Hong Kong market (though less poetic), and an odd return to 80s type techno, without the cool, silly dancing…. what is the world coming to?

I’m not in any way claiming that some of the shit I loved when I was about 12 was any better, but at least at that time it was original. It is refreshing to see that artists like Adele, Gotye, and Florence and the Machine – people who can actually sing –  are reaching larger audiences as well as all the kak . Yes, inevitably songs get killed by being overplayed on the radio, but at least these types of artists won’t get caught lip-synching.

So has everything been done before? Are we having a post-post modernist crisis? It’s going to be interesting to see where we head. 

I guess as old Billy Shakespeare put it:

“If music be the food of love, play on…” Except you, Rebecca. Except you.

