Little did I know when I wrote yesterday’s post that I would discover two things today:

1. I passed my test and have my notification to appear at my citizenship ceremony in a few weeks.

2. I totally and utterly screwed up. I assumed I didn’t have to do anything to maintain dual citizenship other than to ascertain that both RSA and Canada accept this. Little did I know that I was supposed to apply to the South African government to retain my SA citizenship before I applied for Canadian citizenship.

What a doos. I cannot believe I messed this up. After years of this. I am not sure if I can plead with the SA govt, seeing as my oath is in a few weeks, and send in the forms now as a last resort, or if this means I have to surrender belonging to my beloved home country.

I don’t even know what to say.

