I think it is rather fitting that just before I take off into the wilds of Alberta on holiday on my first trip outside of BC (if you don’t hear from me again, send a search party….), I received my notification that I can write my citizenship test next month.

People assume because The Husband is Canadian, I automatically become one. Doesn’t work like that. Even though they approved my immigration application in record time, I still had to wait at least three years before I could apply for citizenship, which then took more than a year to be approved. Now I have to study hard to write a test on obscure Canadian facts (suggested Qs from friends include What is the name of Constable Ben Fraser’s dog on “Due South”?). If I pass (I have to get 12/20 and have an interview with a judge), then I get to go to a swearing in ceremony, swear allegiance to the Queen, and then I believe another judge will deem me fit to be Canadian.
It’s all rather odd.
Fortunately, I live with a walking encyclopedia, so much of the information in the test booklet is familiar to me, but they really do ask some very odd questions, and as usual with these things, I doubt most Canadians would actually know the answer…
And so will begin another chapter of the Canadian Chronicles…
PS – There really is a question about hockey on the practice tests… though not about sugar shacks or the origins of “eh”…
