Even though I’ve lived here for almost 6 years (and the fact that I may have been known to use a few of these from time to time), there are certain words that North Americans use that I still absolutely abhor:

Candy. This is a cheap Vegas stripper, not yummy chocolately goodness or gooey sweetie-ness, whatever the sick comparisons you may be drawing.

Neat. You may be dressed neatly, like Paul Gross in his Mountie uniform, or you may keep your house neat and tidy, but that Batman outfit you bought is not neat.

Pop. Order a Coke if you want one, or reminisce about 80s hits and the death of music by auto-tune, but don’t order a pop, please.

And for the love of God, learn how to use an adverb. It’s “I like to eat healthily”, not “I like to eat healthy”.

Oh, and you are well, not good.

PS – I am sure there are more, but I can’t think of any at the moment. Feel free to add your own pet hates in the comment field.

