I’ve set out to write a new post, mostly because it’s been a million years since I last did, and yet I am not sure I have anything too particular to say.

It’s interesting how blogging is something that is so easy to do when you start. I’d find myself imagining and writing posts in my head and I couldn’t wait to set them down. And now I feel like I have to schedule in time to write and I have to make a major effort to do so. I guess also all my time lately seems to have been absorbed by His Royal Spockness (Exhibit A to your left).

One thing that has been a really interesting and unexpected by-product of dog ownership is how many more of our neighbours I have met. It’s also so odd as I find myself meeting all sorts of people on my walks with him, and although I may very well find out their dog’s name, I never actually find out who they are. We end up talking for ages about the dogs, but don’t actually get to know anything about each other. Who are we, but the willing slaves on the end of the leash?

Spock has already become a local celebrity and at 4 months, has the whole world in his spotty little paws. Old ladies have brought him blankets, grown men have practically swooned, people have taken pictures… it’s rather interesting being his sidekick… and his personal pillow. Currently, he is sprawled from my lap onto the slide out keyboard drawer, with his head cushioned on the ergonomic wrist pad I have and it is making typing somewhat of a challenge. Spoiled little shit.

It is something that I do really love about living here, though: the opportunity to actually meet and know my neighbours. We are so closed off from each other in South Africa. It’s so sad that we have become so fenced in and detached from our communities. I love that I know a bunch of people on our street and in the area and that I know they’d look out for us if anything went wrong, or if we needed anything.

People are very community minded here, which I love. There is a genuine feel that people care about where they live (for the most part). I love that people are friendly (for the most part) and also enjoy simple pleasures like gardening. I also love that as soon as the weather turns vaguely nice, we are all out there manically taking in any jot of sunshine that might come our way and it seems pretty normal to have long conversations about the weather. I realise that I make so much of an effort to get out there and seize the day: there is nothing like the threat of more rain and grey to motivate one.

I was interested to note that Canada has the highest rate of volunteering in the world. I like this. I think it says a lot for a country with a relatively small population. And of course this doesn’t mean everyone is easy going or happy (just ask the douche who was making a big deal of it when I asked him not to park in front of our house so that the Husband could have better access with his sprained ankle), but it does make it a very easy place to live.

I do find it interesting that despite all this friendliness and community focus, it is still hard to break through into friendships, and I know it is something I have mentioned more than once, and that other people not from here have noticed too. I wonder where this stems from? The transience of the place? People don’t want to invest time in people who are moving? Something I still ponder…

However, it is still at least something to feel part of a neighbourhood… even if my function now is only as Spock’s owner and portable lap… 🙂

